[Gothic Metal] Anathema – Eternity (20th anniversary)

1609

Yesterday marked the 20th anniversary of Anathema “Eternity” album. If you dont know who Anathema is and into Gothic/Doom Metal, then you have to review your knowledge.
Anathema is an essential piece of the unholy trinity of the Gothic Doom Metal genre, along with My Dying Bride and Paradise Lost.
“Eternity” is what got me interested into Gothic and Doom Metal. When I was young, I was  old enough to listen to my older brother tapes and songs (as we shared room). My brother was big into New Wave, in particular “Depeche Mode”. I liked it too but I was also interested by “the Cure”. Of course, I did not get the proper introduction to it as my brother was referring it as “music for girls”. Then I reached my 10th year birthday and got into something much more tough, listening to Metallica, Iron Maiden and AC/DC. In high school, to get into Gothic Metal you had to hang out with the right friends, thing I wish I did retrospectively. Long story short, I got into Gothic/Doom later during college by listening to the Gathering and Lacuna Coil. Among tapes and CDs exchanged with classmates, I came into Anathema via “Eternity” and boom that was it. Something heavier than The Cures, much slower than Metallica but having the same vibes than The Gathering but also having darker lyrics. That was just in time in my life when I was into a depression. It helped me cope into it, giving this vector for catharsis of my depression and coping with a lost love.
The album is very pivotal in my opinion as the band transitioned from doom into gothic metal and that has evolved later into more accessible and more mainstream “indie rock”. It has still some of the heaviness of their previous albums, but also a lot of experimentation with progressive tones and keyboard that surely influenced me to move into symphonic metal.
If I have to pick one song from the album, it is certainly “Sacrifice”. It is starting very slow like any Gothic Metal song, with the romanticized lamentation and sadness, followed by the catharsis and excruciating pain to relieve such sufferance and at the end giving you the ability to move on with your life. A couple of weeks, there was a Twitter discussion about how music is associated with activation of certain area of the limbic system. One of the point was what did we have evolved some attraction to tones we qualify as sad. This album is the perfect example of why: by giving a cathartic vector to our sadness and depression, music can help us exteriorate it and help us move on with life.

Leave a Reply

